Matthew Torigian

Deputy Minister of Community Safety, Province of Ontario

Matt Torigian was appointed Deputy Minister of Community Safety effective June 9, 2014. In this role he also acts as Ontario’s Deputy Solicitor General.

Matt began his policing career with the Waterloo Regional Police Service in 1985 and has held progressively responsible positions until his appointment as Waterloo Region’s fifth Chief of Police on December 12, 2007. He is a graduate of Wilfrid Laurier University (Political Science) and received his Master’s Degree in Public Administration (MPA) from the University of Western Ontario. Matt is a graduate of the FBI National Academy in Quantico, Virginia as well as the FBI National Executive Institute. He was a contributing author in Contemporary Issues in Canadian Policing (2004), and also completed a research project involving a Process Evaluation of the Waterloo Regional Police Service’s implementation of Community Mobilization. This research led to the development and implementation of a skills based Community Mobilization Practitioners Course for the Waterloo Regional Police Service.

Matt was elected President of the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP) for the 2011-2012 term, and represented the OACP on the Future of Policing Advisory Committee, the Ontario Police College Advisory Group, the Continuum of Public Safety Personnel Working Group, and the Ontario PTSD Working Group. In addition to his involvement on many provincial, national and international law enforcement agencies and organizations, Matt represented the interests of Ontario police services as a member of the Board of Directors for the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP). He also co-chaired the CACP Police Information and Statistics Committee (POLIS) and the National Police Service, National Advisory Committee.

Matt has worked conscientiously toward addressing the root causes of crime, building neighborhood capacity and promoting shared responsibility toward community wellness.

He is a recipient of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Award, and, in 2012, was invested as an Officer of the Order of Merit of the Police Forces by His Excellency, Governor General David Johnston.